The Winners - 2023 KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards

The 2023 KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards winners were announced at the “Oscars” of the Irish property industry at the Convention Centre Dublin last evening. Over 900 stakeholders gathered in what is recognised as the premier networking event of the property calendar. 

Sustainability permeated throughout all entries and demonstrated the targeted actions undertaken by industry stakeholders to improve environmental credentials and address local and global sustainability challenges. Two outstanding projects were awarded the Judges Overall Award - Sustainable Ireland Property Award 2023. 

  • Kennedy Wilson - Clancy Quay: Stands as a beacon of excellence, showcasing what can be achieved when sustainability, regeneration, innovation, and community integration are at the heart of a development project. It is a multiple award-winning project that is unmatched in the marketplace, with approximately 2,000 residents and a wide variety of amenities.
  • van Dijk Architects - Beyond the Trees - Avondale House and Forest Park: The redevelopment of Avondale House and Forest Park has provided a world-class fully accessible visitor destination. This unique project, built on a historic and environmentally sensitive site seamlessly integrates the restoration of historic buildings and the construction of contemporary, sustainable, Irish-grown timber interventions


Jim Clery, Partner, Head of Real Estate at KPMG congratulated all winners and spoke to the Judges Overall Award - Sustainable Ireland Property Award 2023 “In celebrating excellence in sustainable development both Kennedy Wilson's Clancy Quay and van Dijk Architects' Beyond the Trees are very deserving recipients of their awards. The Clancy Quay project is a testament to regeneration and community harmony, while Beyond the Trees is a unique blend of history and innovation, transforming Avondale House into a gem in Ireland’s Ancient East and creating a tremendous tourism asset for the region. Together, they epitomise sustainability stewardship and visionary developments of the Irish property industry.

Ireland’s longest-established property awards program, now in its eighth edition, is unique in that it awards players from all industry sectors, is non-commercial whereby no sponsor is allowed of any category, and any benefit is invested in Ireland’s only property research academia at Ph.D level. Most vital, is that the awards highlight the outstanding achievements and commitment demonstrated by each contender.

Kathryn Meghen, CEO, of RIAI and Chairperson of the Judging Panel, remarked, "The judging process presented a formidable task, as all of the shortlisted entries were of an extremely high standard and reflected the excellent work being delivered across the industry. Our responsibility was to review all of the entries to the awards and to identify winners in each category. These were selected for their delivery of client and community-centred projects and work, all focused on quality and entrepreneurial excellence."

Winners of the Ten Category Awards are: 

1. Contractor Award
John Paul Construction has solidified its reputation for uncompromising quality and service. 2022 was its most successful year to date with turnover up by over 10% to €605m. The company sees every project as an opportunity to Go Further and Build Smarter for clients. 

2. Public Space Planning Award
Cork County Council - Cobh Town Centre Urban Design Plan is the result of a local authority-led, multidisciplinary design team, and co-design process resulting in a high-quality, holistically designed, transformational urban design plan. It is a people-centered design that maximises accessibility, inclusiveness, placemaking, and wellbeing

3. Architecture Award
Henry J Lyons - Tropical Fruit Warehouse, is a stunning example of sympathetic restoration of a protected structure, allowing the public to fully appreciate the internal character of the beautifully restored historic fabric.

4. Built Heritage & Conservation Award (Joint winners)
John Paul Construction & Kennedy Wilson - 20 Kildare Street, is a stellar example of how Georgian heritage can be preserved with the right team and their passion for restoration and respect for traditional building integrity, while also enhancing the appeal of any modern office development with their retained charm and historical significance

5. Residential Agency Award (Joint winners)
Hooke & MacDonald: A sustainability trailblazer, committed to reducing carbon emissions and pioneering green solutions for residents.
Owen Reilly: Redefining property marketing with a creative twist—the "Doors of Dublin" campaign.

6. Commercial Agency Award
QRE Real Estate Advisers: A dominant force since 2015, QRE is a thought leader in sub-€20m markets, recognised for its voice and expertise, becoming one of Ireland's largest independent commercial real estate firms.

7. Technology Innovation Award
Symphony Energy: Smart Optimisation at 1 Cumberland Place, achieving a remarkable 75% improvement in HVAC efficiency.

8. Property Fund Manager Award
IPUT: Prioritising quality over short-term returns, IPUT has a 55-year track record and stands out with Ireland's first net-zero logistics building at Quantum Logistics Park.

9. Irish Housing Award
Dominick Hall, Cotter and, Naessens & Denis Byrne Architects: An ambitious regeneration project providing quality, energy-efficient and accessible homes for 72 households. Dominick Hall is the first step in delivering a long-term ambition for the social, economic, and environmental regeneration of this inner-city neighbourhood. 

10. Young Property Professional Award
Ryan Hanly of Rooney Real Estate & Blackthorn Property. From recent graduate to Co-owner of two property industry offerings, he exemplifies the entrepreneurial spirit and commitment to shaping the future of the property sector.

As the longest established and only cross-sector property industry awards, the Property Industry Excellence Awards programme is distinct as it is the only one which is non-commercial thereby ensuring the integrity of the judging process whereby no award category is sponsored. Further, it is the only awards programme that contributes to the academia of the property sector, at the Ph.D. level. It is supported and endorsed by all industry bodies and professional institutes. The following are our esteemed judges.

Jim Clery, Partner, Head of Real Estate, KPMG
Sean Twomey, Real Estate Partner at Addleshaw Goddard
Peter Bastable, Executive Chairman, Pinergy
Kathryn Meghen, CEO, RIAI, Chairperson of Judging Panel
Maeve Hogan, CEO, The Property Services Regulatory Authority
Dr Conor Norton, Head of the School of Architecture, Building and Environment, TU Dublin
Charlotte Sheridan, President, RIAI
Seán Lenihan, Chartered Engineer, and Fellow, Engineers Ireland
Shirley Coulter, CEO, The Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland (SCSI)
Sean O’Leary, Senior Planner, Irish Planning Institute
Lorcan Sirr, Senior lecturer in housing, planning, and development at TU Dublin
Hubert Fitzpatrick, Director General Designate, Construction Industry Federation
Pat Davitt, CEO, Institute of Professional Auctioneers & Valuers