The Oscars of Irish property are taking place this November. Here’s how to enter

Are you involved in the property industry? Whether you’re an agent, architect, contractor, or member of a local community group, you need to know about the KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Excellence Awards.

Now in its fifth year, the awards have been dubbed the Oscars of property and it’s not hard to see why. Unlike other property awards, the KPMG Irish Independent Property Industry Awards cover all sectors within the industry from Design Project of the Year to the Energy Efficiency Award.

The awards programme has been established as a partnership between all property industry stakeholders and endorsed by all professional bodies and representative groups. This year there will be an impressive 10 categories to enter.

1.       Community Benefit Award

2.       Regional Excellence Award

3.       Design Project of The Year

4.       Commercial Agency Award

5.       Property Investment Fund Manager Award

6.       PropTech Innovation Award

7.       Excellence in Planning Award for both private and public sectors

8.       Contractor Award

9.       Energy Efficiency Award

10.   Facilities Management Project Award

If you think your project or business is a good fit then you can enter online for free now. Nominations can be made by anyone in the property sector from facilities managers to surveyors and developers to engineers. It’s also quick, easy and who knows – you might get to attend the awards this November.

The awards night sees 1000 property industry professionals gather together for a glamorous gala to celebrate their achievements and network with all industry players, not just their own sector. The winners in each category set the benchmark for professionalism and showcase the best that industry stakeholders have to offer.

This year, everyone will be on the edge of their seat to see who will claim the coveted Commercial Agency Award. Commercial agents large or small that provide leasing, sales, funding, site acquisition and investment sales are all encouraged to enter.

Judges will be looking for a company that has excelled during the last 12 months. To stand out from the crowd, you should include details of key deals, evidence of business development and staff training initiatives, proof of tangible improvement in performance in the past year, details of changes in strategy and evidence of strong customer focus in your application.

Last year, the award was won by JLL real estate advisors and professionals so the winning agent will have to pull out all the stops to impress the judges.

Property awards body.jpg
Richard Joyce MD of LINESIGHT and John Moran Commercial Agency of the Year Award winners JLL.

The awards are judged by representatives of all professional bodies, including CIF, SCSI, IPI, RIAI and IPAV amongst others. A total of 15 judges will be taking part this year. You can view the panel in full here.

“Real estate remains a vital part of Ireland’s business infrastructure and recognising excellence plays a key role in promoting the value of the sector to our economy,” says Jim Clery, tax partner and head of real estate at KPMG.

“We are moving to a new environment where, while the commercial sector looks to be in equilibrium, skills shortages and housing shortages are to the fore. We will be particularly interested to look at initiatives in these areas as we showcase the best examples of Irish success in the various awards categories.”